We’re Getting a Roof!

Woohoo! You can finally see what the shape of the roofline is going to look like! I’ve always been a little concerned because there is no real way to discern all the angles from the plans and the pile of trusses did nothing for me! But now… now it’s clear! And it’s complex but interesting! Wayne’s working on getting roofing and siding bids now so that it moves further down the line to being a house!

I’m working with the door rep to pick a new entry door system. The one we wanted was beautiful but I can’t justify spending over $5000 (with tax) for a door, two sidelights and a transom. I did want fiberglass for its insulating properties but, since the door is well under cover, we’re going to move on to a solid wood Buffelen door.  And, because we can use ball bearing hinges, we’re going to change to 8′ high doors with the same sidelights but we’ll forego the transom. I think it will look sharp, Jim should be easily able to open/close it despite the extra height due to those special hinges, it should still let good light in and it should fit into the budget. I’m meeting with Dave, the door guy, on Friday in the early afternoon to go over that and two other exterior doors.

Wayne and I will be meeting with the framing crew chief at 9 a.m. on Friday to talk about the changes I need on some window heights and the master bathroom wall arrangement. Hopefully that will be the final adjustment session we’ll need on framing and the implementation will go smoothly. Just about the time they’re finishing up the windows should arrive so they’ll be able to move directly on to setting those and the exterior doors.

I found out that the basement walls that I was concerned about because they had OSB applied to them are actually shear walls, required by code and specified in the engineering drawings of our plans. Since this area does have earthquakes occasionally, these are necessary and if you don’t go the OSB route, you must use steel beams and other more costly methods to address stability on these load bearing walls. I guess I’ll just accept this way of doing it and that’s that!

Calls came from both the bank and the title company today confirming that our loan was filed and that we’re ready to rock! I’m working on the first disbursement package that’s due to the bank tomorrow. It’s a new way of doing things and requires a bunch of information we’ve never collected before so I’ll have to focus on it to be sure these folks get their checks on time! Thank goodness we don’t have to write checks out of the IRA any more! YAY!

This entry was posted in Construction Management, Lumber and Framing, Owner Builder Change Orders, Owner Builder Construction, Shop and Save and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’re Getting a Roof!

  1. Lan says:

    Hi,

    I have been reading up on your journey and it is quite fascinating. I think u are doing
    a great job in educating yourself and also your readers :).

    BTW, we are looking at buying some land in the same area and would like to
    get your insights/thoughts if u have some time. Please reply to my email address
    (if u do not have access to it via wordpress, please reply here and I will post my email)

    Tks !

    – Lan

    • Access Queen says:

      Hi Lan,

      I’m glad that you’re finding the postings of use — it helps me keep things sorted out to write them down but I was pretty sure that I wasn’t the only one travelling this path! I’m not sure how to get your email but feel free to post it and I’d be happy to share what I know about this end of King County!

      Thanks!

  2. Lan says:

    Thanks.

    Please contact me via lan at narasimhan dot net

Leave a comment